When working with a shared document (we are using one through Royal Server), often other users will make additions/changes and no one will know unless they happen to reload the document. I would suggest that Royal TS could periodically check to see if the document has changed, and reload the document (or merge/save if local changes were made), when the app is idle or not in focus for a bit. This could be an option.
Alternatively, if a change has been made but the current document in Royal TS is not current, it would be nice to have a noticeable indicator somewhere. I thought I remembered there being a Save icon at the bottom status bar when that was the case when using a shared file not through Royal Server, but I have not noticed that since having our shared document moved there. The save icon would be better than nothing, but ideally it would be more attention-grabbing.