Start a new topic

Royal Server credential prompt

I'm new to RoyalTS, evaluating it as a Devolutions Remote Desktop Manager replacement.

My company is interested in using the RoyalTS Document Store feature. We want to store our documents on the RoyalTS Server and have our technicians access the Documents from the Royal Server.

We've set up a RoyalTS Server. And added the Royal Server object to our local installs. What I'm finding, however, is that we have to set our credentials in the Royal Server object. What I would like is that each time Royal TSX opens and attempts to connect to the RoyalTS Server, we're prompted for our credentials (to connect to the Royal Server and pull down the Document(s)).

How can I accomplish this?

Hi Stefan,

I don't think that's going to work for us, unfortunately.

It's a bit of a shame that the password has to be added to the Royal Server object embedded within a personal .rtsz file on the technician's PC. I am now exploring using a file sync platform as an alternative in response to that news.

If I may make a feature enhancement request, it would be that end-users should be able to create a Royal Server object in their personal .rtsz file, but NOT need to specify credentials in there. Instead, the experience should be exactly what we get when connecting via RDP or SSH to other computers. i.e. When RoyalTS opens and sees a Royal Server object with no embedded credentials, it should pause and ask the end-user for the credentials to connect to the RoyalTS server.

That just seems like a sensible experience.

Hi Timothy,

I understand your disappointment. I kindly ask you to post a feature request in our ideas forum. This is the best way to gauge interest in certain features and help us prioritize which features to implement sooner.

Regards,
Stefan

Hi Timothy,